Being Agender and Surgically Transitioning

It’s a topic I think I haven’t mentioned yet. I am Agender. I don’t identify with any gender under the sun. However, I know what I want my body to look like, and I have the funding to change it. My health insurance will cover any transgender related surgeries and hormones. With no co-pays. I want to make alterations to my body… alterations that are generally associated with trans men. The desires have been consistent since childhood, and after lots of therapy and self-reflection, I feel confident about surgical transition. Top surgery is coming up in February (2014). I got a hysto in August 2013, which was the worst pain of my life, but I had medical issues with those baby-makin’ organs, so they’re gone! From 1993 to 2013, the discomfort and misery I suffered thanks to those organs was worth 3 months of pain during recovery as far as I see it! 

I’m not taking the hormone route because of past problems with trying it. It made other health problems worse, and I was taking it for all the wrong reasons: peer pressure! Trans men pestered me, bullied me, and pressured me to take T. I tried it to get all those assholes off my back, but it was a disaster to my health! The doctor I recently saw thinks that I should stay away from hormones indefinitely, and I’m not all broken up about it! Shit, I’m glad he thinks that way–because I do  too!

But then there’s bottom surgery. Uhhh… the doc I saw said a metoidalplasty is probably not gonna happen without the growth “down there” that T gives a person. I don’t like the idea of phalloplasty, even though I don’t need T for that. Taking skin from somewhere else on my body to construct a penis doesn’t sit well with me! No one has come up with penis donations as far as I know, and my body would most likely reject the donor penis anyway! I guess the lower area is gonna have to stay the way it is.

It may sound odd to people to read about an Agender person transitioning like this, but as far as I see it, parts don’t mean that I “want to be a man”. I just want to change my body to the way I want it. I’m not the first, and I won’t be the last.

2 thoughts on “Being Agender and Surgically Transitioning

  1. It is so awesome that your insurance will pay for your transition! It’s makes sense that you could be agender and still want to access some transition treatments. If one can be agender and feel their body and subconscious sex align (e.g., have no body dysphoria), then of course someone could be agender and still want to change their body.

    I’m sorry to hear about the pressure you felt to take T, and the health problems it caused. Hope everything goes well for you from here.

    • I hope my upcoming top surgery goes well! Thanks California for changing the laws for insurance companies so they have to pay for surgeries! I suppose that since I am making alterations, I can call myself trans, but I don’t worry about labels as much as I used to.

Leave a comment